Todd Owen Tops SK Modifieds At New London-Waterford Speedbowl 

Todd Owen celebrates victory in the SK Modified feature Saturday at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl (Photo: Mitch Bombard/TK Race Photo)

In 2021 Todd Owen captured SK Modified championships at both the New London-Waterford Speedbowl and Stafford Speedway. 

In 2022 the Somers driver has put himself in position to repeat the double feat. 

At Stafford Speedway Owen is on the verge of likely clinching his second consecutive title at the track’s next event on April 23. He currently holds a 106 point lead over Marcello Rufrano in the SK Modified division standings at Stafford with three events remaining. Should he hold a 102 point lead ore better over Rufrano following the April 23 feature at Stafford Owen would clinch the Stafford SK Modified title with two events left to be run for the season. 

At the Speedbowl the chase for a second consecutive title is quite a bit closer, but Saturday Owen did everything possible he could do to help himself. 

Owen got his fifth victory of the season in the 35-lap SK Modified feature Saturday at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl.

Owen now holds a 15 point lead over second place Eric Berndt in the Speedbowl SK Modified division standings. Three SK Modified feature remain on the schedule this season at the Speedbowl.

Berndt, of Cromwell, was second Saturday and Anthony Flannery of East Hampton third. 

Nick Hovey of Chaplin won the 25-lap SK Light Modified feature, marking his first career win in the division. 

John O’Sullivan of Salem was second and Evan Bourgeois of East Haddam third.

Scotty Watts of Seabrook, N.H. won the 45-lap 350 SMAC feature. Kenny White of Weare, N.H. was second and Bobby Timmons III of Windham, Me. was third.

Sam Mesick of East Lyme was victorious in the 25-lap Mini Stock feature. Avery Stoehr of Bridgewater, Mass. topped the 25-lap NEMA feature. Randy Cabral of Plymouth, Mass. won the 25-lap NEMA Lites feature. Ed Ryan Jr. of Preston led the way in the 25-lap Truck feature. Brody Monahan of Waterford won the 25-lap Legends feature.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing