Shaw Takes It All: DJ Shaw Wins ACT Feature, Championship And Triple Crown At Speedbowl 

DJ Shaw celebrates victory and a championship with the American-Canadian Tour Sunday at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl (Photo: Jim DuPont/RaceDayCT)

If it could be won on Sunday by DJ Shaw at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl with the American-Canadian Tour then he won it. 

Shaw, of Center Conway, N.H. won the 100-lap American-Canadian Tour season finale at the Haunted Hundred at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl. 

The victory also clinched Shaw’s second consecutive ACT championship and the title for the Southern New England Triple Crown Series. 

Shaw came into the event second in the series standings, trailing Gabe Brown by 21 points. 

Brown, who had to go through the last chance qualifiers event to make the 31-car field, ended up eighth on the track but was penalized to 18th place for an aggressive driving penalty on the last lap. Shaw would have won the title even if Brown had finished eighth.

“We couldn’t have had a better day really,” Shaw said. “It’s so bittersweet to beat Gabe here, but nothing to hang his [head down about]. We had a hell of year, both of us. Just, we had the perfect day today and that’s exactly what we needed.

“I’m so proud of everything we’ve done and everything Dale Shaw Racecars does,” Shaw said. “… It’s a lot to be proud of and everybody wants to be here and they’re going to keep coming for us so we’ve got to keep being better and better every time we hit the race track. That’s what we’re going to try to do and try to keep it going as long as we can.” 

Alexandre Tardiff of Notre Dames-Des-Pins, Quebec was second and Nick Cusack of Scarborough, Me. third.

ACT Results from the New London-Waterford Speedbowl

1.         04VT    D.J. Shaw                     Center Conway, NH

2.         21QC   Alexendre Tardif         Notre Dame des Pins, QC

3.         49CT    Nicholas Cusack          Scarborough, ME

4.         68VT    Brooks Clark                Fayston, VT

5.         25NH   Jesse Switser               West Burke, VT

6.         00NH   Jimmy Renfrew Jr.      Candia, NH

7.         5MA    Tom Carey III               New Salem, MA

8.         17QC   Maxime Gauvreau      St-Marie de Richelieu, QC

9.         68NH   #Tanner Woodard       Waterbury Ctr., VT

10.       7NC     Davey Riendeau          Mooresville, NC

11.       0NH     Brandon Barker          Windham, ME

12.       97NH   Joey Polewarczyk        Hudson, NH

13.       41QC   Jonathan Bouvrette    Blainville, QC

14.       45NH   Kasey Beattie              St. Johnsbury, VT

15.       35CT    Ryan Morgan              N. Franklin, CT

16.       90QC   Zackary Fauteaux        Mascouche, QC

17.       03MA  Derek Gluchacki          North Dartmouth, MA

18.       60ME   Gabe Brown                Center Conway, NH

19.       31CT    #Andrew Molleur       Shelton, CT

20.       31CS    Brody Monahan          Waterford, CT

21.       76RI     Tyler Tomassi              Warwick, RI

22.       27NH   Cam Huntress              Rochester, NH

23.       38RI     Connor Souza              Providence, RI

24.       30RI     Jacob Rowdy Burns     E. Greenwich, RI

25.       36NH   Erick Sands                  Derry, NH

26.       37CT    Jordan Hadley             Quaker Hill, QC

27.       77NH   #Bryan Wall Jr.            E. Kingston, NH

28.       1CT      Corey Fanning             Uncasville, CT

29.       47NH   Brockton Davis            Whitefield, NH

30.       88MA  Woody Pitkat              Bellingham, MA

31.       66VT    Jason Corliss               Barre, VT


  1. Hillary 2024 says

    It was a good race. It was pretty wild that the 60 car going for the championship had to make it in through lcq or consi. It was a little confusing on the way cars made it into the feature. 49 cars on hand. The act announcer was trying to remember the last time a track had so many. 2012 maybe. Awesome to see. Sounds like there would have been over 50. Some teams had to cancel to due to the rain date. I think this race was better than tri track only because of the great battled for the lead.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing