Eight Is Enough: Jason Palmer Scores 100th Career Win At New London-Waterford Speedbowl 

It was an achievement 20 years in the making saved seemingly perfectly for the final day of the season at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl. 

Jason Palmer won Saturday’s 30-lap Late Model feature at the Speedbowl’s Crowning of the Champions Night. 

His eighth Late Model division win of the season also marked his 100th career victory at the Speedbowl. 

Palmer, of Berlin, started his career at the Speedbowl in a Legends car in 2004. He had 53 victories in the Legends car division at the Speedbowl from 2005 and 2009. Saturday was his 47th career win in the track’s Late Model division, which he has competed in since 2010. 

Palmer became just the fourth driver in New London-Waterford Speedbowl history to eclipse the 100-victory mark at the historic shoreline oval. Keith Rocco (154 wins), Phil Rondeau (107 wins) and Don Collins (101 wins) are the only drivers to reach 100 wins at the Speedbowl. 

Palmer clinched his third consecutive Late Model championship – and fourth overall – before Saturday’s event. He scored his first Late Model title in 2015. 

Asked in September what 100 wins would mean to him, Palmer was succinct. “Not a thing,” he told RaceDayCT. 

“Keith Rocco is so far out,” Palmer said of the track’s all-time wins leader. “It would be one thing if Rocco had like 102 or 110 and that was a goal to shoot for. When you look at it, I’m 66 percent of what he has right now. 

“It’s cool that I’m catching guys, but Phil Rondeau is a legend. When I was a kid watching cars go around, I used to love watching Allen Coates [88 wins]. He was probably one of my favorite guys to watch because he always put on a show. And then one day, I’m like ‘Holy smokes, I’ve got more wins now than Coates? That guy was my hero.’ Phil Rondeau has always been a Late Model legend. You’re catching people like that, but I don’t put myself on that same platform. If it was the 90’s I don’t know if I’d be able to hang with those guys. I’d sure as hell would try to, but things are definitely different now than they were then.” 

Al Stone III of Durham used a second place in the 25-lap Street Stock feature finished second to clinch his fifth Street Stock title at the track. Stone also win championships in the division in 2008, 2010, 2015 and 2016. Stone, who had four wins this season, is the division’s all-time winningest driver with 64 career victories. Aaron Plemons of Uncasville won the Street Stock feature.

John O’Sullivan of Salem used a victory in the 25-lap SK Light Modified feature to clinch his first track championship. 

O’Sullivan edged Evan Bourgeois of East Haddam by one point in the standings. Bourgeois finished third in the feature. Nick Hovey of Chaplin was second in Saturday’s feature and ended up third in the final standings. 

Christopher Garside of Groton used a second place finish in the 25-lap Mini Stock feature to win his first championship in the division. John Bavolaccco of Stratford won the 25-lap Mini Stock feature. Kyle Gero of Uncasville won the 50-lap Truck feature.


  1. Just curious. How many wins does Dennis Gada have at Waterford? When I used to frequent Waterford he seemed to win every week.

    congrats to Palmer. 100 wins at any track is certainly a great accomplishment.

  2. CSG,
    Dennis Gada has 64 career wins at the Speedbowl, which puts him 11th on the overall win list at the track. 62 of his wins were in the SK Modified division and two were in the Late Model division. If you’re ever looking for any Speedbowl history or records check out the Speedbowl History site put together by Tom “Sid” DiMaggio. Amazing archive of all things Speedbowl.

  3. Longtimefan says

    Al Stone got his mojo back! just like Todd Owen, Stone was always there at the end, and collecting those valuable points, both great drivers, a lot of similarities in their driving styles, patient at the right times, and aggressive at the right times, both very methodical drivers. And Todd Owen is becoming the king of Sk modifieds, WOW!! Many records will be smashed by him.

  4. Hillary 2024 says

    I remember those years when it seemed Gada won all the time. Crazy that he’s only 11th on that list

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing