Marcello Rufrano Wins New England Racing Fuel Support Performer Of The Week Award

NE Racing Fuel Support Performer Award

The surprises were many Friday night at Stafford Motor Speedway.

Doug Coby was looking to be on cruise control to another Whelen Modified Tour at the track when a mechanical failure doomed him with less than 10 laps remaining. Then Bobby Santos III seemed handed a git wrapped victory only to run out of gas. And in the end it was Jimmy Blewett able to snare his first win driving for team owner Bob Garbarino.

But then was the shocker of the evening and it didn’t involved the Whelen Modified Tour or even the SK Modified division.

In the SK Light Modified division it was 15-year old Marcello Rufrano making his divisional debut at the track starting from 20th place in the field. In the end it was Rufrano celebrating victory in his first start.

And this week that surprise meant a runaway victory for Rufrano, of North Haven, in voting for the New England Racing Fuel Support Performer of the week award.

Rufrano earned a 210 of 273 votes cast for the award this week for a whopping 75.3 percent.

Cory DiMatteo of Farmington, who got his first career SK Light Modified victory Saturday at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl, was second in the voting with 33 votes (11.8 percent).


Each week during the 2016 racing season the New England Racing Fuel RaceDayCT Support Performer of the Week will be chosen from among drivers competing in events in one of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series weekly support divisions (excludes SK Modified divisions) at Stafford Motor Speedway, Thompson Speedway and the Waterford Speedbowl.

Rufrano will receive a $20 certificate for race fuel from New England Racing Fuel.

The final voting results for this week are listed below.

NE Racing Fuel Support Performer Award

2016 New England Racing Fuel Support Performer of the Week Award Winners

April 10: Tony Membrino Jr.

April 27: Alexandra Fearn

May 11: Tony Membrino Jr.

May 25: Tony Membrino Jr.

June 1: Woody Pitkat

June 8: Phil Jacques

June 15: Tony Membrino Jr.

June 22: Brent Gleason

June 29: Kevin Gambacorta

July 13: Joey Ferrigno

July 20: Jacob Perry

July 27: Al Stone III

Aug. 3: Daniel Wesson

Aug. 10: Marcello Rufrano

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing