On Tap Presented By Ric’s Place: Mod Tour At Stafford; Wings & Wheels At Waterford

On Tap: Presented By Ric’s Place

On Tap Presented By Rics Place Banner 2015

SMS Logo 2015Where: Stafford Motor Speedway

What: NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and Whelen All-American Series

When: Friday

Schedule: 150-lap NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, 40-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified, 30-lap Late Model, 20-lap SK Light Modified, 20-lap Limited Late Model and 15-lap DARE Stock. Grandstands open: 4:15 p.m; Qualifying: 6 p.m; Features: 6:30 p.m.

More: The 11th event of the season at Stafford. … The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour makes its third of four visits this year to Stafford. It marks the sixth of nine Whelen Modified Tour events this year at state short tracks. The division has completed two of four scheduled events at Thompson Speedway and completed its lone event at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl. Marks the ninth of 17 events overall for the series this year. … Reigning series champion and current points leader Doug Coby has won both Whelen Modified Tour events this year at Stafford (April 24, June 3) and has won the last three series events at the track dating back to last October’s Fall Final at Stafford. … Coby has led 322 of 330 laps competed this year at Stafford in Whelen Modified Tour competition. Dating back to the Fall Final last year, Coby has led 367 of the last 375 laps run in Whelen Modified Tour competition at Stafford. … Coby, who has won the last two Whelen Modified Tour championships, and three in the last four seasons, holds a 34 point lead over second place Timmy Solomito in the standings. Two-time series champion Donny Lia is third in the standings, 36 points behind Coby. Justin Bonsignore is fourth, 37 points off the lead. … Solomito (three wins) and Coby (three wins) are the only multi-time winners this year. Ron Silk and Bobby Santos III are the other winners this year. … Last week, 61-year old Dan Avery won the SK Modified feature at Stafford. … Other winners this year include Rowan Pennink (three wins), Woody Pitkat (two wins), Ted Christopher (two wins), Todd Owen and Eric Berndt. … Pennink holds a 14-point lead over second place Christopher in the SK Modified standings. Rocco is third, 48 points behind Pennink. … Tom Fearn got his fourth victory in the season in last week’s Late Model feature. … Other winners this year include Kevin Gambacorta (two wins), Michael Bennett, Michael Wray, Josh Wood and Pitkat. … Fearn leads second place Wray by 10 points with Gambacorta in third, 24 points off the lead. … Daniel Wesson got his third victory in six starts this year in last week’s SK Light Modified feature. … Other winners in the division this year include Tony Membrino Jr. (five wins), Joey Ferrigno and Joe Graf. … Membrino leads second place Ferrigno by 10 points in the standings.  Jay Goff is third, 66 points off the lead. … Albert Saunders got his second win of the season in last week’s Limited Late Model feature. … Other Limited Late Model winners this year include Paul Arute (three wins), Cliff Saunders, Justin Bren, Duane Provost, Bryan Narducci and Robert Bloxsom III. … Arute leads second place Provost by two points in the standings with Albert Saunders in third, 10 points behind Arute. … Alexandra Fearn got her second win of 2016 in last week’s DARE Stock feature. … Other winners in the division this year include Trace Beyer (two wins), Tyler Trott (two wins), Zack Robinson, Brandon Michael, Ryan Fearn and Johnny Walker. … Michael leads second place Walker by two points in the division standing with Beyer in third, six points off the lead. … For more information visit the Stafford Motor Speedway website.

New London Waterford Speedbowl LogoWhere: New London-Waterford Speedbowl

What: Wings & Wheels

When: Saturday

Schedule: 100-lap Valenti Modified Racing Series, 50-lap ISMA SuperModified, 35-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified, 25-lap SK Light Modified, 25-lap NEMA Midget and 25-lap Three-Quarter Midget. Grandstands open: 1:30 p.m.; Qualifying: 5:30 p.m.; Features: 6:45 p.m.

More: The 12th event of the season at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl. … The Speedbowl welcomes the Valenti Modified Racing Series, International SuperModified Association and Northeastern Midget Association for its annual Wings & Wheels night. … Last week’s event at the Speedbowl was cut short after two events because of rain. … In the last SK Modified event at the Speedbowl on July 23, Rob Janovic Jr. got his first win since the 2014 season. … Other winners in the division this year include Keith Rocco (four wins), Ted Christopher, Joey Gada, Tyler Chadwick, Dylan Izzo, Paul Kusheba IV and Diego Monahan. … The top-five in the SK Modified standings are separated by 13 points with Rocco and Gada tied for the standings lead. Dennis Perry is third, four points behind. Janovic sits four, 10 points behind the leaders and Christopher is fifth, 13 points behind. … Corey Barry got his first victory of the season in last week’s SK Light Modified feature. … Chris Correll won in the last SK Light Modified event at Waterford on July 16. … Other winners in the division this year include Tony Membrino Jr. (four wins), Chris Correll and Andrew Molleur. … Membrino holds a 19 point lead over second place Barry in the SK Light Modified standings with Brett Gonyaw in third, 34 points off the lead. … For more information check the New London-Waterford Speedbowl website.

On Tap Presented By Rics Place Banner 2015


  1. is TC going to run the MRS and TQ race at the bowl this weekend?

  2. what is the rain date for this show.

  3. Looks like weather could be an issue again on Saturday. I suppose anyone traveling a long distance should think about the Sunday rain date.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing