On Tap Presented By The Hidden Still: Whelen Mod Tour Returns To Thompson

On Tap: Presented by The Hidden Still

Thompson Logo 2016 300x250Where: Thompson Speedway

What: Whelen Modified Tour and Whelen All-American Series Racing Series

When: Wednesday

Schedule: 125-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series, 30-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified, 25-lap Late Model, 20-lap Limited Sportsman, 15-lap Mini Stock and 20-lap NEMA Lites. Grandstands open: 3:30 p.m.; Qualifying: 5 p.m. Features: Immediately following qualifying.

More: The third event of the season at Thompson Speedway and second appearance of the season at the track for the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour. … The fifth of 16 Whelen Modified Tour points events this season and third of seven to be contested at Connecticut tracks. … Rowan Pennink won the Icebreaker 150 at Thompson on April 9. The series returns to Thompson on Aug. 4 and then holds its season finale at Thompson on Oct. 15. The series also makes three stops this season at Stafford Motor Speedway. … Timmy Solomito leads the series standings by nine points over Pennink. Eric Goodale is third in the standings, 22 points off the lead. … Three-time defending series champion Doug Coby sits ninth in the series standings, 51 points behind Solomito. … Solomito has two wins this season, including a victory in the most recent series event at Langley Speedway in Hampton, Va. on May 13. Solomito also won the season opener at Myrtle Beach (S.C.) Speedway on March 18. Ryan Preece, who the NAPA Spring Sizzler at Stafford on April 30, is the only other winner this year. … In the last event at Thompson Speedway on May 21, Keith Rocco was victorious in the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified feature. … Preece won the other SK Modified feature this year. … Rocco and Preece sit tied atop the division standings with Woody Pitkat in third, 14 points off the lead. … Rick Gentes won the Late Model feature on May 21 at Thompson. … Ray Parent won the season opener for the division. … Parent leads second place Ryan Morgan by one point in the division standings. Gentes is third, nine points behind Parent. … Ryan Waterman was victorious in the Limited Sportsman feature on May 21 at Thompson. … Jesses Gleason is the other winner in the division this year. … Scott Sundeen leads second place Waterman by two points in the division standings. Gleason is third, five points off the lead. … Wayne Burroughs Jr. won the most recent Mini Stock feature at the track on May 21. … Dave Trudeau won the first event of the year. … Burroughs leads the standings over Trudeau and Nathan Taylor, who sit tied for second, five points off the lead. … For more check the Thompson Speedway website.


Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing