On Tap Presented By The Hidden Still: Whelen Modified Tour Returns To Thompson Speedway

On Tap: Presented by The Hidden Still

Thompson Logo 2016 300x250Where: Thompson Speedway

What: Whelen Modified Tour and Whelen All-American Series Racing Series racing card

When: Wednesday

Schedule: 150-lap NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, 30-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified, 25-lap Late Model, 20-lap Limited Sportsman and 15-lap Mini Stock and 25-lap NEMA Midget. Grandstands open: 3:30 p.m.; Qualifying: 5 p.m. Features: 6:15 p.m.

More: The fifth event of the season at Thompson Speedway. … The Whelen Modified Tour returns for the third of four events at the track this year. … Rowan Pennink won the Modified Tour Icebreaker 150 on April 9 at Thompson and Ryan Preece was victorious in the Thompson 150 on June 14. The Whelen Modified Tour closes its season on Oct. 15 with the running of the Sunoco World Series 150. … Marks the fifth of seven Whelen Modified Tour events in Connecticut this year. Stafford Motor Speedway hosts the series three times. Preece won the NAPA Spring Sizzler 200 on April 30 and the Stafford 150 last Friday. … Marks the ninth of 16 Whelen Modified Tour points events for the 2017 season. … Other series winners this year include points leader Timmy Solomito (three wins) and Bobby Santos III. … Pennink sits second in the standings, seven points behind Solomito. Eric Goodale and Justin Bonsignore sit tied for third in the standings, 25 points behind Solomito. … Despite missing an event, Preece sits fifth in the standings, 26 behind Solomito. Preece, the 2013 series champion, will miss another event when he competes for Joe Gibbs Racing in an Xfinity Series event on Sept. 23 at Kentucky Speedway, the same day of the F.W. Webb 100 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway for the Whelen Modified Tour. … Doug Coby, the three-time defending series champion and four time champion overall, sits sixth in the series standings, 32 points behind Solomito. Coby was second to Preece Friday at Stafford. … Bonsignore, who was third at Stafford on Friday, is the defending champion of the event. Five of Bonsignore’s 12 career Whelen Modified Tour victories have come at Thompson Speedway. … Ted Christopher leads active drivers with 13 career Whelen Modified Tour victories at Thompson. Coby also has five series wins at the track. … In the last event at Thompson Speedway on July 8, Todd Owen won the SK Modified feature, his first feature win in the division at the track. … Other winners in the division this year include Preece, Keith Rocco and Troy Talman. … Preece holds a 13-point lead over second place Rocco in the division standings. Owen is third in the standings, 24 points behind Preece. … Matt Lowinski-Loh won in the last Late Model event at the track. … Ray Parent (two wins) and Rick Gentes are the other Late Model winners this year. … Parents holds a 14-point lead over second place Gentes in the Late Model standings. William Wall is third, 28 points behind Parent. … Brent Gleason won in the last Limited Sportsman event at the track. Other Limited Sportsman winner this year include Jesse Gleason, Larry Barnett and Ryan Waterman. …Shawn Monahan leads the division standings by two points over second place Scott Sundeen. Waterman is third, 10 points behind Monahan. … Wayne Burroughs Jr. get his second win of the season in the Mini Stock event on July 8. … Other Mini Stock winners this year include Eric Bourgeois and Dave Trudeau. … Burroughs holds a 12-point lead over second Bourgeois. Nathan Taylor is third in the standings, 29 points behind Burroughs. … For more check the Thompson Speedway website.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing