ACT Unveils Commonwealth Classic Early Entry List

(Press release from American-Canadian Tour)
At least 27 ACT Late Model drivers will make the trip to Richmond Raceway in March, including a number of Massachusetts-based competitors such as Tom Carey III (#5MA) (Photo: ACT/Buzz Fisher)

The American-Canadian Tour (ACT) has announced the full early-entry list for the Commonwealth Classic 65 at Virginia’s Richmond Raceway.

A total of 27 entries have been received as of Monday, February 4 from teams that will be in action when ACT takes to the historic track on Saturday, March 30.

The entry list to date includes drivers from five U.S. state and the province of Quebec. A mix of ACT Late Model Tour stars, weekly Late Model standouts, Super Late Model regulars, and special-event favorites are ready for ACT’s inaugural trip to the state of Virginia.

Many current and former ACT top dogs have filed their entries for the Commonwealth Classic and will battle for the $5,000 top prize. Former ACT Champions Wayne Helliwell Jr. of Dover, NH and Nick Sweet of Barre, VT bring instant star power. Williamstown, VT’s Jimmy Hebert and Barre, VT’s Christopher Pelkey were both top-10 point drivers in 2018. AuSable Forks, NY’s Brandon Atkins has competed sporadically in a Late Model the past two seasons, but the 2014 ACT Rookie of the Year will make the trip down south.

ACT’s “home track” of Thunder Road Speedbowl will also send a strong contingent of drivers. Multi-time winner Jim “Boomer” Morris of Barre, VT, former Memorial Day Classic winner Tyler Cahoon of Danville, VT, and rising star Stephen Donahue of Graniteville, VT are making their plans for the end of March. Stephen’s father John, a 15-time Late Model winner at the track, has also entered, as has longtime Thunder Road competitor Scott Coburn of Barre.

A number of Late Model racers from the Southern New England area have entered the Commonwealth Classic. The state of Massachusetts along will send at least six drivers: 2018 Seekonk Late Model Champion Ryan Kuhn of East Bridgewater, 2018 Seekonk Pro Stock runner-up Jake Johnson of Rehoboth, Thompson Speedway winner Tommy Carey III of Warwick, 2018 Seekonk Sport Truck Champion Joshua Hedges of New Bedford, longtime ACT Late Model Tour racer James “Scruffy” Linardy of Malden, and part-time ACT competitor T.J. Moreshead of Seekonk. Warwick, RI’s Mark Jenison, a multi-time Thompson Speedway winner and former ACT regular, has entered the event as well.

At least sixedrivers from the province of Quebec will haul to Richmond. They’ll be led by Blainville, QC’s Jonathan Bouvrette, the 2017 Série ACT Champion. Former Série ACT winner Martin Goulet Jr. of St. Calixte, QC and Mathieu Kingsbury of Blainville, QC will join him along with Saint-Donat, QC’s Jean Philippe Bergeron, the 2018 Canadian Stock Car Championship Rookie of the Year. Autodrome Chaudiere NASCAR Late Model regulars Marc Begin and Alexandre Tardif will take on the D-shaped Richmond oval.

Last but not least, the state of New Hampshire will be well-represented. Multi-time PASS winner Bryan Kruczek of Newmarket, NH was the first racer to enter the event, and he will be joined by Helliwell, Lancaster, NH’s Shawn Swallow, and Whitfield, NH’s Jesse Switser. Jeff Marshall resides in Gilman, VT, but he has been a big winner at New Hampshire track in his Late Model career, and he will try to add a victory in Virginia to his résumé.

Drivers and teams may still enter the ACT Commonwealth Classic by filling out and submitting the entry form on the ACT website at These entries will be subject to a $100 late-entry fee.

The 65-lap event is part of a huge day of racing for the PASS Commonwealth Classic. The Pro All Stars Series Super Late Models will hold a 75-lap open show plus a 75-lap event for crate engine cars. There will also be open events for Tour-type Modifieds, the MASS 8-cylinder Street Stocks, and the North East Mini Stock Tour.

ACT will have much more on the Commonwealth Classic 65 in the coming weeks. For more information, contact the ACT offices at (802) 244-6963, [email protected], or visit, or

2019 ACT Commonwealth Classic Entry List

14NYBrandon AtkinsAuSable Forks, NYNorthline Utilities Dodge Charger
25MATommy Carey IIIWarwick, MABrookside Equiment Sales/Lyon Auction Chevy Monte Carlo SS
39QCMathieu KingsburyBlainville, QCDuroKing/Dynamitage Piche Ford Fusion
410MEJesse SwitserWhitfield, NHLaflamme’s Landscaping
513VTBoomer MorrisBarre, VTK. Bellevance/Classic Auto Chevy Impala
615MAJake JohnsonRehoboth, MADaffodil’s Gift Shop/Lin’s Propane Trucks Chevy Monte Carlo
718QCJean-Philippe BergeronSaint-Donat, QCProlon Controls/JC Perreault Chevy Impala
819NHBryan KruczekNewmarket, NHLittle Webb’s Fuel/Sunoco Chevy Camaro
921QCAlexandre TardifSt-Georges, QC 
1022RIMark JenisonWarwick, RIJenison Motorsports Ford Mustang
1126VTJohn DonahueGraniteville, VTDonahue Motorsports Chevy Monte Carlo
1227NHWayne Helliwell Jr.Dover, NHE Keys 4 Cars/Unique Ford Ford Fusion
1329MAJoshua HedgesNew Bedford, MAChuckran Audo Parts/Nlarophoto Toyota
1432NHJeff MarshallGilman, VTKnudson Salvage/Fadden Automotive Chevy Monte Carlo
1537QCMarc BeginSt-Philibert, QCBegin Auto Parts Chevy Impala
1638VTTyler CahoonDanville, VTBerlin Optical Expressions/P&H Transportation Chevy Impala
1740VTNick SweetBarre, VTMansfield Heliflight Chevy Impala
1841QCJonathan BouvretteBlainville, QCGlobocam/DLGL Chevy
1958VTJimmy HebertWilliamstown, VTHebert Excavation/Lowrey’s Auto Chevy SS
2064VTChris PelkeyGraniteville, VTVermeer Chevy
2172MARyan KuhnEast Bridgewater, MAEveretts Auto Parts/Berniers Liquors Chevy SS
2272VTScott CoburnBarre, VTCoburn Motorsports Chevy Impala
2377MAJimmy LinardyMalden, MAKayem Hot Dogs Chevy SS
2483QCMartin Goulet Jr.St. Calixte, QCGoulet Motorsport Chevy Impala SS
2500MATJ MoresheadSeekonk, MAT. Moreshead Landscaping/Miller Chiropractic Chevy Impala
2604NHShawn SwallowLancaster, NHNorth Conway Incinerator/Central Paving Chevy Impala
27?Steven DonahueGraniteville, VTDonahue Motorsports Chevy Monte Carlo

Do you enjoy what you’re reading and seeing here at RaceDayCT? Would you like to see continued coverage of New England short track racing? Your support can help ensure that professional coverage of short track racing can continue at RaceDayCT, and you can get some great rewards for that support. Patreon allows readers to make small monthly contributions to RaceDayCT that support the ongoing coverage of short track racing. Your pledge comes with exclusive tiered reward programs for offering that support. For just a $5 a month pledge fans can have access to the weekly Unmuffled podcast. For more information click the link here.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing