Jason Palmer, Ray Christian III Turn Up The Heat For Full Fendered Throwdown At Speedbowl

(Press Release from the New London-Waterford Speedbowl)

Jason Palmer (17) and Ray Christian III (93) in action Saturday at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl (Photo: Matt Wood/TK Race Photo)

WATERFORD – This year’s edition of Full Fendered Throwdown did not disappoint with the stakes so high. Ray Christian III took the win in the first segment of the Late Model main event, and Jason Palmer would win the final two and the overall crown. Brian Norman and Charles Canfield sailed their way to big wins in the Street Stocks and Mini Stocks. Pete Zaikarite and Bill Rheaume flip the script in the X-Cars and Super X-Cars. Former Legend Car competitor Devin Deshaies won the Exit Realty Pro Trucks race, and Josh Martin won the Compact Enduro.

Palmer took off to an early lead in the first 25 lap segment of the Late Models, but it was Christian who methodically worked his way towards the front of the field in the caution free event.  After passing Ryan Morgan and Charles Bailey III, Christian got to work reeling in Palmer to challenge for the top spot.  When an attempt at the inside line was thwarted by Palmer, Christian moved to the high line to complete the pass and score the win.

“Hopefully we get a yellow to bunch (the field) back up” Christian said when asked about the invert for segment number 2; a sign of things to come.

The script was completely flipped when the cars rolled out for their next 25 lap bout, when several cars went around on the first lap. Keith Scalia and Jake Silva dueled for a lap as the caution flew again, but when racing resumed it was Scalia with the advantage. A front straight melee almost spelling out bad news for Christian, placed the podium from segment 1 at the front of the field.  Morgan briefly had the advantage but couldn’t hold on to the lead, losing it to Palmer on a restart. This time around Palmer crossed the stripe first, with Christian in the runner up spot.

The 15-lap shootout for the expanded purse was lined up by lap times, starting Palmer and Christian on the front row in a classic duel to see who the overall winner of the evening would be. After nearly a whole race of side-by-side action, Palmer took home both the race win and the Full Fendered Throwdown crown.

With his finishes on the night, Ray Christian III has clinched the 2022 Late Model track championship with two races remaining.

After a few weeks off, the Street Stocks took to the track with their biggest field of the season. Tony Macrino got off to the early lead but would get shuffled back a few positions, allowing Aaron Plemons to lead the field to green on the ensuing restart. However, Brian Norman used the outside groove to rocket into the lead and maintain it even after a couple more cautions slowed the pace of the race.  With Norman safely ahead, Aaron Plemons and Al Stone III dueled for the final spots on the podium, with Plemons taking down the runner up position.

 Charles Canfield had a string of luck that was less than ideal, but he had no issues shooting out of a cannon from his outside pole starting position to lead every lap to earn his fourth win of the season and extending his point lead. The race was slowed down only once by a parts failure. This win moves him up the all time win list tying him with the late Danny Field.

 One week ago, Bill Rheaume came up a hair short of winning the Saturday edition of the Super X-Cars, this week he redeemed himself by swapping positions with Devin Tate creating a tie in the Fall Shootout Series points going into The Finale. After a caution, the battle on the track came down to third place with Sean Skinner having the advantage over a dueling Ray Reed and Ben Pollard.

 Also creating a tie for points, Pete Zaikarite spent the entire X-Car race in his own zip code swapping positions from the week before with Christian Herman, taking home the win. The caution free event had the field strung out for much of it, but a 6-car battle would form for second after an intense showdown between Herman and Ryan Magliano stole the show for their 25-lap event.

Compact Enduro point leader Josh Martin brought out a new car to Round 5 to extend his point lead with the win. His car wouldn’t make it to victory lane though, breaking down just outside the pit gate.

Devin Deshaies won the 55-Lap Gavin Winsor Memorial Exit Realty Pro Truck race, marking his second division he’s won at the Speedbowl in his young career.

One more Saturday night show remains on the schedule next week, headlined by the INEX Legend Car Fall Classic with all weekly Speedbowl divisions on the card, including INEX Bandoleros. To keep up with the happenings, visit www.speedbowlct.com, keep up with us on Facebook at The New London-Waterford Speedbowl, or on Twitter @SpeedbowlCT.


Late Model 1 (25 Laps): 1. 93CT-Raymond Christian[5]; 2. 17-Jason Palmer[4]; 3. 31CT-Ryan Morgan[6]; 4. 94CT-Charles Bailey III[2]; 5. 37-Jordan Hadley[3]; 6. 66MA-Brett Leblanc[9]; 7. 50RI-Michael Benevides[1]; 8. 9-Keith Scalia[8]; 9. 67-John C Silva III[10]; 10. 32-Jason Williams[11]; 11. 2-Derryck Anderson Jr[7]

Late Model 2 (25 Laps): 1. 17-Jason Palmer[9]; 2. 93CT-Raymond Christian[10]; 3. 31CT-Ryan Morgan[8]; 4. 37-Jordan Hadley[6]; 5. 94CT-Charles Bailey III[7]; 6. 9-Keith Scalia[3]; 7. 50RI-Michael Benevides[4]; 8. 67-John C Silva III[2]; 9. 32-Jason Williams[1]; 10. 66MA-Brett Leblanc[5]; 11. (DNS) 2-Derryck Anderson Jr

Late Model Shootout (15 Laps): 1. 17-Jason Palmer[1]; 2. 93CT-Raymond Christian[2]; 3. 94CT-Charles Bailey III[5]; 4. 37-Jordan Hadley[6]; 5. 31CT-Ryan Morgan[3]; 6. 50RI-Michael Benevides[7]; 7. 9-Keith Scalia[4]; 8. 67-John C Silva III[8]; 9. (DNS) 2-Derryck Anderson Jr; 10. (DNS) 66MA-Brett Leblanc; 11. (DNS) 32-Jason Williams

Street Stocks (25 Laps): 1. 12-Brian Norman[5]; 2. 67-Aaron Plemons[3]; 3. 52-Al Stone III[4]; 4. 13-Tony Macrino[1]; 5. 9-Shawn Gaedeke[2]; 6. 81-Ed Gertsch Jr[7]; 7. 74-Joseph Arena[6]; 8. 14-Steve Barrett[8]; 9. 16MA-Zach Meade[9]; 10. 39-Christopher Douton[10]; 11. 80X-Tyler Trott[14]; 12. 33-Jake Coutu[11]; 13. 22T-Timothy Poulin[16]; 14. 54-Michael DiFranco[15]; 15. 38-Jon Porter[12]; 16. 21-Tom Musante[13]

Mini Stocks (25 Laps): 1. 25-Charles Canfield[2]; 2. 9-Rick LaFlesh[1]; 3. 83-Christopher Garside[5]; 4. 2CT-Sam Mesick[3]; 5. 49-Jesse Oloski[10]; 6. 22CT-Tim Baker[8]; 7. 22-Hailey Beal[6]; 8. 28-Erica Canfield[7]; 9. 12-Aiden Sullivan[9]; 10. 01CT-Chuck McDonald[11]; 11. 31-Tommy Silva[4]; 12. 81-Stacey Zentek[12]; 13. (DNS) 30-Charles Beal; 14. (DNS) 88-Bill Sylvia

X-Cars (25 Laps): 1. 07-Pete Zaikarite Jr[2]; 2. 9-Christian Herman[4]; 3. 02-Ryan Magliano[1]; 4. 7X-Corey Caddick[6]; 5. 93-RIch Nye[7]; 6. 19-Dylan Cabral[3]; 7. 01-Chuck McDonald[5]; 8. 56-Keith McDonald[9]; 9. 72-Kevin O’Flaherty[10]; 10. (DNS) 11-Tim Burgess; 11. (DNS) 42-Chris Palamar

Super X-Cars (25 Laps): 1. 43-William Rheaume[1]; 2. 14-Devin Tate[2]; 3. 24-Sean Skinner[3]; 4. 87-Ray Reed[4]; 5. 88-Ben Pollard[5]; 6. 82-John Nash[6]; 7. 2-Caity DeSomma[7]; 8. 10-Glen Marion Jr[11]; 9. 31-Peter Childs[10]; 10. 60-Jeremy Marcella[9]; 11. 30-Pipper Beal[8]; 12. (DNS) 12-David Ciastko

Compact Enduro (50 Laps): 1. Josh Martin; 2. Andrew Culley; 3. Dino Broccoli


  1. Only 10 cars. Where was the 35? Does anyone else win at the bowl except the 17 and 93? Was that the final race of the season for the Late Models

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing